2019 Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Team Matches | Squad | Fixtures - Results

Sri Lanka Cricket Team

2019 Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Team Matches | Squad | Fixtures - Results

Get 2019 Sri Lanka Cricket World Cup Team Matches | Squad | Fixtures - Results

Sri Lanka Cricket Team

Sri Lankan team is a fine cricketing nation which is playing this sport since 1975 ODI World Cup. They are famous as “The Lions” after the official flag logo. SL won 1996 Cricket World Cup held in the Sub-Continent/Asia. Also, they were runners-up twice in two consecutive ODI World Cups. They have some of the big names in the World Cricket. Sri Lanka will start their CWC trip with warm-up matches against South-Africa on 24th May. The first fixture of the team in the World Cup will be against New Zealand on 1st June 2019.

In the last World Cup, they reached Quarter Finals but lost against the South African team who were looking strong after bowled them out at a very low score of 133. Here is all Sri Lanka records and stats of the previous World Cup.

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup Sri Lanka Results



Group Stage

New Zealand 331/6 (50/50 ov)

Sri Lanka 233 (46.1/50 ov)

New Zealand won by 98 runs

Australia 342/9 (50/50 ov)

England 231 (41.5/50 ov)

Australia won by 111 runs

Afghanistan 232 (49.4/50 ov)

Sri Lanka 236/6 (48.2/50 ov)

Sri Lanka won by 4 wickets (with 10 balls remaining)

Sri Lanka 332/1 (50/50 ov)

Bangladesh 240 (47/50 ov)

Sri Lanka won by 92 runs

England 309/6 (50/50 ov)

Sri Lanka 312/1 (47.2/50 ov)

Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets (with 16 balls remaining

Australia 376/9 (50/50 ov)

Sri Lanka 312 (46.2/50 ov)

Australia won by 64 runs

Sri Lanka 363/9 (50/50 ov)

Scotland 215 (43.1/50 ov)

Sri Lanka won by 148 runs

Quarter Final

Sri Lanka 133 (37.2/50 ov)

South Africa 134/1 (18/50 ov)

South Africa won by 9 wickets (with 192 balls remaining)


Right before the announcement of the squad, Sri Lanka Cricket Board change captain of the side, Angelo Matthews is still in the side. After giving chance to Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera and Matthews, selection committee change captain again. Dimuth Karunaratne is a left-hand batsman who usually opens the innings will lead the Sri Lankan team in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England. Following are the full 15 member team that will play in the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Sri Lanka Squad 2019 Cricket World Cup

Dimuth Karunaratne (captain): The Left-hand Opening batsman will lead for first in his career and at the big stage of CWC. It will be a challenge for Karunaratne who hasn’t lead in a single match and has given the face up to tackle World Cup 2019. Made his ODI debut in July 2011, he only had played 17 ODIs.

Kusal Perera (wk): The Left-hand wicketkeeper-batsman who is the first choice of keeping for his team, made ODI debut in January 2013. He played 88 ODI matches and made 2283 runs with an average of 29. Took 32 catches and done 2 stumpings.

Kusal Mendis (wk): The Right-hand wicketkeeper-batsman of Sri Lanka made his ODI debut in June 2016 against Ireland at Dublin. He had played 60 innings in 62 ODI matches and scored 1626 runs with an average of 28, also took 30 catches.

Lahiru Thirimanne: The Left-hand Top-order batsman who can bats at any number because of his pressure absorption skills. He made his ODI debut in January 2010 against India, so far he played 97 innings in 117 ODI matches. He scores 2946 runs with the help of 4 centuries and 20 half-centuries, averaging of 35.

Avishka Fernando: The right-hand opening batsman of Sri Lankan team has only played 5 ODI matches after his debut in 2016. The 21 years old is selected for his first World Cup.


Angelo Mathews: The Right-hand all-rounder who bats in the middle order, Matthews is the key player of his team. Angelo Matthews has captained the Sri Lankan side for quite a while. He made ODI debut in November 2008, played 203 ODI matches. In 173 batting innings, he scores 5380 runs with an average of 42, in 154 bowling innings he has taken 114 wickets.

Thisara Perera: The Left-hand batting all-rounder Thisara is an integral part of his squad and will be a key player for his team in World Cup. Making his debut in December 2009 against India, Perera has played 153 ODI matches. He has scored 2147 runs in 120 batting innings and took 169 wickets in 144 bowling innings.

Dhananjaya de Silva: The Right-hand batting all-rounder of SL, de Silva made his ODI debut in June 2016. He played 32 matches, scores 681 runs in 30 innings and took 15 wickets in 26 bowling innings.

Milinda Siriwardana: The left-hand all-rounder of SL team has played 26 ODI matches since July 2015. He scores 513 runs in 23 batting innings and took 9 wickets in 20 bowl innings.

Jeevan Mendis: The Leg-break bowling all-rounder J.Mendis made his ODI debut in June 2010, since then he played 22 ODIs taking 28 wickets and scored 207 runs.

Isuru Udana: The bowling all-rounder of Sri Lanka, Udana played only 5 ODI matches since his debut in July 2012.

Lasith Malinga: The front-line fast bowler is all experienced to tackle every batsman of the World through his orthodox bowling style. Malinga made his ODI debut in July 2004 and has played 218 matches, he took 322 wickets in it.

Suranga Lakmal: The Right-arm fast-medium bowler Lakmal made his ODI debut in December 2009 against India. Lakmal played 81 ODIs and took 105 wickets in it.

Nuwan Pradeep: The right-hand medium fast bowler of Lankan team has played 34 ODI matches since his debut and took 38 wickets in it.

Jeffrey Vandersay: The Right-hand Leg-break spin bowler has played 11 matches taking 10 wickets in it.

These players will be the squad who will compete in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. Sri Lankan Board has changed the captain before the World Cup and puts 5 new players instead of experienced Dinesh Chandimal and other players.

The below-given table will lead you to the Sri Lankan Schedule for the upcoming world cup of Cricket.

Sri Lanka Fixtures 2019 Cricket World Cup


Time (UK)



1 June 2019


New Zealand VS Sri Lanka

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

4 June 2019


Afghanistan VS Sri Lanka

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

7 June 2019


Pakistan VS Sri Lanka

County Ground, Bristol

11 June 2019


Bangladesh VS Sri Lanka

County Ground, Bristol

15 June 2019


Australia VS Sri Lanka

The Oval, London

21 June 2019


England VS Sri Lanka

Headingley, Leeds

28 June 2019


South Africa VS Sri Lanka

Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street

1 July 2019


Sri Lanka VS West Indies

Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street

6 July 2019


India VS Sri Lanka

Headingley, Leeds

Share this post