England Cricket Team



England Cricket Team

England will host the whole ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 with Wales Cricket. The English team is the founder of this game and it is their official sports. England is playing cricket from the early 18th century. The One Day Internationals was held after the 1970 time period and the first World Cup was held in 1975. Unfortunately, they haven’t won a single Cricket World Cup but they were finalist/ Semi-Finalists several times. According to the cricket experts, the current team of England is one of the best and finest in the history of game like the 1992 World Cup. England will start their proceedings in the 1st match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 against South Africa at The Oval ground in London. The event will start from Thursday 30 May 2019. Before two months of the 2015 World Cup Eoin Morgan gets the captaincy and he leads them in Australia and New Zealand hosted 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup.

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup England Results



Group Stage


231 (41.5 overs)


342/9 (50 overs)

Australia won by 111 runs

123 (33.2 overs)

New Zealand

125/2 (12.2 overs)

New Zealand won by 8 wickets

England 303/8
(50 overs)


184 (22.2 overs)

England won by 119 runs

England 309/6
(50 overs)

Sri Lanka

312/1 (47.2 overs)

Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets


275/7 (50 overs)

England 260 (48.3 overs)

Bangladesh won by 15 runs


111/7 (36.2 overs) DLS

England 101/1 (18.1 overs)

England won by 9 wickets


England team couldn’t qualify for the Quarter-finals and were cut-off in the group stages of the event. After bad start against arch-rival mighty Aussie team, they lost the control in the mega-event and won matches only against lower rank teams. Watch them this season playing at their home with the most successful team of the era.

England World Cup Squad 2019

Eoin Morgan (captain): Ireland born England player is captain of the English side since 2015 Cricket World Cup. He is the middle-order batsman who is famous for his intelligent batting and innovative shots. Eoin has played 203 innings in 217 ODI matches and scores 6813 runs with an average of almost 40.

Jonny Bairstow (wk): The middle-order batsman and wicket-keeper of English team debut in ODIs in September 2011 against India at Cardiff. Since then Bairstow has played 54 innings in 59 matches and scored 2118 runs with an average of 46.04 /match.

Jos Buttler (wk): The full-time wicket-keeper batsman of England made his ODI debut back in February 2012 against Pakistan at Dubai Stadium. He is known as power hitter of the cricket ball as his strike-rate is over 100 in limited over’s cricket. Buttler so far played 105 innings in 127 ODIs scoring 3387 runs with an average of 40.80 and strike rate of 118.34 and scored 7 centuries and 18 half-centuries.

Alex Hales: The opening batsman of an English cricket team made his debut in August 2014 against India at Cardiff Stadium. He has played 67 innings in 70 matches and scores 2419 runs with the help of 6 centuries and 14 half-centuries.

Joe Denly: Joseph Liam Denly role is to play as an opening batsman. He hasn’t played much cricket for the National team but he has great domestic T20 leagues experience. Denly is selected in England squad for the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Jason Roy: The South-African born English player plays as an opener or one-down position for the team. He made his ODI debut in May 2015 against Ireland at Malahide Dublin ground. So far he played 71 innings in 73 ODI matches and scores 2661 runs, averaging 38.56, the strike rate of 105.51.

Joe Root: The test captain of England Cricket, plays as Top-order batsman (one-down position) in the team. He is in ODIs since Jan 2013, when he made his first appearance against India in Rajkot. Root plays 119 innings of 126 ODIs, scoring 5090 runs with an average of 50.90, scored 14 centuries and 29 half-centuries.

Ben Stokes: The All rounder of English team plays in lower-order of the team. Stokes made his ODI debut in August 2011 against Ireland at Dublin. His batting average is 36.63 with 2088 runs in 68 innings of 79 matches. Also took 63 wickets in 69 innings through his fast bowling.

Moeen Ali: The Batting all-rounder of England Cricket team earns ODI debut in February 2014 against West Indies. Moeen Ali is an elegant left-hand batsman as well as off-break bowler taking qualities together with bat and bowl.

Adil Rashid: The Leg-break bowler who also bats well for the English team is playing ODI cricket for his country since August 2009. Rashid has taken 128 ODI wickets with an average of 29.74 /wicket. He also scores some valuable runs for his team in a crucial time.

Chris Woakes: The Right-arm fast bowler of the team has made some outstanding bowling records for England. He has taken 116 wickets in 80 ODI innings. Woakes also bats well and has scored 1039 runs, averaging of 26.64 with help of 4 half-centuries.

Tom Curran: The Right-arm fast-medium bowler was added in the ODI squad of England in September 2017. He plays 13 matches and took 18 wickets so far.

Liam Plunkett: The experienced campaigner Plunkett is playing as a Fast bowler in the English team. Mark his ODI debut in December 2005 against Pakistan at Lahore, since then he played 78 matches and took 116 wickets.

David Willey: The Left-arm fast-medium bowler Willey made his ODI debut in May 2015 against Ireland at Malahide. He has taken 48 wickets in 42 matches.

Mark Wood: Another fast bowler of the English team, Wood has played 40 ODI matches so far and took 41 wickets after his debut in May 2015.

The 15 team Squad was announced by ECB (England Cricket Board) on the 17th April 2019. It is considered as the best squad of the tournament having home advantages.

England Cricket Team 2019 Fixtures


Time (UK)



30 May 2019


England VS South Africa

The Oval, London

3 June 2019


England VS Pakistan

Trent Bridge, Nottingham

8 June 2019


England VS Bangladesh

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

14 June 2019


England VS West Indies

Rose Bowl, Southampton

18 June 2019


England VS Afghanistan

Old Trafford, Manchester

21 June 2019


England VS Sri Lanka

Headingley, Leeds

25 June 2019


England VS Australia

Lord's, London

30 June 2019


England VS India

Edgbaston, Birmingham

3 July 2019


England VS New Zealand

Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street

Share this post